University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Creative Writing

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

The Department of Creative Writing is designed to provide the highest professional preparation and training to individuals who wish to pursue careers in writing or the teaching of writing. Students can choose to take Creative Writing and Literature courses in English, Spanish, or a combination of the two languages. Each year, a variety of fully bilingual courses is offered. The MFA curriculum culminates in the writing of a book-length manuscript of original creative work (thesis).

Programs

Master of Fine Arts

Chair

Rosa Alcala
Contact Information: 904; 915-747-7020
Education: Ph D, University at Buffalo

Professor

Rosa Alcala
Contact Information: ralcala1@utep.edu; 915-747-7020
Education: Ph D, University at Buffalo

Daniel Chacon
Contact Information: danchacon@utep.edu; 915-747-6255
Education: MFA, University of Oregon

Jose De Pierola
Contact Information: jdepierola@utep.edu; 915-747-6322
Education: MA, UCSD; Ph D, University of California, San Diego

Associate Professor

Andrea Cote Botero
Contact Information: acbotero@utep.edu; 915-747-8093
Education: MA, University of Pennsylvania; Ph D, University of Pennsylvania

Tim Hernandez
Contact Information: tzhernandez@utep.edu; 915-747-8999
Education: BA, Naropa University; MFA, Bennington College

Sasha Pimentel
Contact Information: srpimentel@utep.edu; 915-747-6810
Education: BA, Georgia State University; MFA, California State University at Fresno

Jeffrey Sirkin
Contact Information: jsirkin@utep.edu; 915-747-5529
Education: MA, Miami University; Ph D, University at Buffalo

Lex Williford
Contact Information: lex@utep.edu; 915-747-5721
Education: BA, Stephen F. Austin State University; MA, Stephen F. Austin State University; MFA, University of Arkansas

Assistant Professor

Nelson Cardenas
Contact Information: ncardenas2@utep.edu; 915-747-6316
Education: BA, University of Havana; MA, University of Pennsylvania; Ph D, University of Pennsylvania

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Sylvia Aguilar-Zéleny
Contact Information: saguilar8@utep.edu; 915-747-6316
Education: MEH - Master in Humanistic Studies, Instituto Tecnologico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey; MFA, The University of Texas at El Paso

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Creative Writing
Education Building, Room 901

Emails:
English: creativewriting@utep.edu
Español: creacionliteraria@utep.edu
MFA Online: online@utep.edu
Undergrad: crwundergrad@utep.edu
 

Phone: 915.747.5713


Visit Department Website