University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Psychology

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

The University of Texas at El Paso’s location on the U.S.-Mexico border provides a unique opportunity to investigate how an intersection of nationalities, cultures, and languages affects cognitive processes and behaviors. These issues permeate nearly all of our academic and scholarly activities, including classroom instruction, research, and community placements.

The Psychology Department offers a variety of graduate programs and concentrations so students can tailor their graduate studies in preparation for their future career goals. We offer a PhD in General Psychology and provide three areas of concentration for students: Health; Legal; and Social, Cognitive, and Neurosciences. The objective of the PhD program is to prepare students for research careers in either academic or applied settings.

We also offer two MA programs: one in Clinical Psychology that prepares students to either work in applied settings as a psychological associate or to continue on to a Clinical PhD program; and one in General Experimental Psychology that prepares students to continue on to a PhD program.

Chair

Wendy Francis
Contact Information: wfrancis@utep.edu; 915-747-8956
Education: BA, University of Texas at Austin; MS, University of California, Los Angeles; Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles

Professor

Edward Castañeda
Contact Information: ecastaneda9@utep.edu; 915-747-6558
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor

Lawrence Cohn
Contact Information: lcohn@utep.edu; 915-747-6567
Education: BA, Boston University; Ph D, Washington University

Stephen Crites
Contact Information: scrites@utep.edu; 915-747-6571
Education: BS, The Ohio State University; MA, The Ohio State University; Ph D, The Ohio State University

Craig Field
Contact Information: cfield@utep.edu; 915-747-8539
Education: Ph D, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

Wendy Francis
Contact Information: wfrancis@utep.edu; 915-747-8956
Education: BA, University of Texas at Austin; MS, University of California, Los Angeles; Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles

Osvaldo Morera
Contact Information: omorera@utep.edu; 915-747-5417
Education: BS, The Ohio State University; MA, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Laura O'Dell
Contact Information: lodell@utep.edu; 915-747-6557
Education: BS, Texas A&M University; MS, Arizona State University; Ph D, Arizona State University

John Wiebe
Contact Information: jwiebe@utep.edu; 915-747-7611
Education: Ph D, The University of Iowa

Michael Zarate
Contact Information: mzarate@utep.edu; 915-747-6569
Education: BA, University of California, Santa Barbara; MS, Purdue University; Ph D, Purdue University

Associate Professor

Theodore Cooper
Contact Information: tvcooper@utep.edu; 915-747-6270
Education: BA, New York University; MS, The University of Memphis; Ph D, The University of Memphis; Post Doctoral, University of Mississippi

Jennifer Eno Louden
Contact Information: jlenolouden@utep.edu; 915-747-5517
Education: BA, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; MA, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; Ph D, University of California, Irvine

Sergio Iñiguez
Contact Information: sdiniguez@utep.edu; 915-747-5769
Education: Ph D, Florida State University

Ana Schwartz
Contact Information: aischwartz@utep.edu; 915-747-7365
Education: BA, Rutgers University; MS, Penn State University; Ph D, Penn State University

Katherine Serafine
Contact Information: kmserafine2@utep.edu; 915-747-6566
Education: BA, Norwich University; MA, American University; Ph D, American University

Assistant Professor

Ashley Bangert
Contact Information: asbangert2@utep.edu; 915-747-8987
Education: BA, Trinity University; MA, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of Michigan

Misty Duke
Contact Information: mcduke@utep.edu; 915-747-8573
Education: BA, The University of Texas at Austin; MA, Texas Woman's University; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Iva Ivanova
Contact Information: imivanova@utep.edu;
Education: BA, Sofia University; MA, Universitat de Barcelona; Ph D, University of Barcelona; Ph D, Universitat de Barcelona

Christine Potter
Contact Information: cepotter2@utep.edu; 915-747-6563
Education: Ph D, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Krystia Reed
Contact Information: kmreed2@utep.edu;
Education: BA, Claremont McKenna College; BA, Claremont McKenna College; MA, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; MA, University of Nebraska - Lincoln; JD, University of Nebraska - Lincoln; JD, Nebraska College of Law; Ph D, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Ph D, University of Nebraska

April Thomas
Contact Information: athomas5@utep.edu; 915-747-6572
Education: BS, Wichita State University; MS, Colorado State University; Ph D, University of California, Irvine

Hannah Volpert-Esmond
Contact Information: hivolpertes@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Missouri-Columbia

Senior Lecturer

Anthony Blum
Contact Information: ajblum@utep.edu; 915-747-5313
Education: Ph D, Ohio State University

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Psychology
Psychology Building , Room 112
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79902


Phone: 915.747.5551
Email: psychology@utep.edu

Visit Department Website