University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Languages and Linguistics

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

The Department of Languages and Linguistics is committed to excellence in teaching and scholarship that prepares students to fully understand the nature, importance, and multiple roles of language, literature, and culture.  We offer undergraduate degrees and minors in Spanish, French, and Linguistics and a master's degree in Spanish and Linguistics. We also have a minor in Translation and Interpretation and a graduate certificate in Bilingual Professional Writing. In addition to Spanish and French, we have an ever-expanding menu of language courses--Portuguese, Italian, German, Latin, Arabic, Persian, Chinese, and Hebrew. Many of our graduates go on to successful careers in primary, secondary, and post-secondary education; in law and law enforcement; in business; and in government.  Others utilize their UTEP training in pursuing terminal degrees and a successful academic career in research and teaching.

We recognize our significant responsibility to serve the El Paso and surrounding communities. Indeed, our location on the U.S.-Mexico border makes the Department of Languages and Linguistics at UTEP the ideal place not only to study but also to experience daily realities about language acquisition and cultural diversity. Moreover, we reach out to the Paso del Norte Community through public lectures, conferences, and international festivals.

Programs

Master of Arts

Certificate

Chair

Maria-Socorro Tabuenca
Contact Information: mtabuenc@utep.edu; 915-747-7038
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Graduate Certificate, Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana; Ph D, State University of New York at Stony Brook

Professor

Anadeli Bencomo
Contact Information: abencomo5@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Pittsburgh

Charles Elerick
Contact Information: celerick@utep.edu; 915-747-7041
Education: BA, The University of New Mexico; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Kirsten Nigro
Contact Information: kfnigro@utep.edu; 915-747-7044
Education: BA, University of Delaware; MA, Middlebury College; Ph D, University of Illinois

Maria-Socorro Tabuenca
Contact Information: mtabuenc@utep.edu; 915-747-7038
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Graduate Certificate, Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana; Ph D, State University of New York at Stony Brook

Associate Professor

Carla Contemori
Contact Information: ccontemori@utep.edu;
Education: MA, University of Siena; BA, University of Siena; Ph D, University of Siena

Matthew Desing
Contact Information: mvdesing2@utep.edu; 915-747-7028
Education: Ph D, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

Jane Evans
Contact Information: jeevans@utep.edu; 915-747-7026
Education: BA, Cornell University; MA, Indiana University; Ph D, University of New Mexico

Sandra Garabano
Contact Information: sgarabano@utep.edu; 915-747-7035
Education: Ph D, University of Colorado

Lowry Martin
Contact Information: lmartin@utep.edu; 915-747-7045
Education: BA, Texas Tech University; JD, Texas Tech University; MA, University of California, Berkeley; Ph D, University of California, Berkeley

Natalia Mazzaro
Contact Information: nmazzaro@utep.edu; 915-747-7040
Education: BA, Universidad Nacional de Litoral; MA, York University; Ph D, University of Toronto

Sara Potter
Contact Information: sapotter@utep.edu; 915-747-7039
Education: BA, Central Michigan University; MA, Middlebury College; Ph D, Washington University in Saint Louis

The University of Texas at El Paso
Languages and Linguistics
Liberal Arts Room 137
500 West University Ave.
El Paso, Texas 79902


Phone: 915.747.5767
Email: jamastae@utep.edu 

Visit Department Website