Return to: College of Liberal Arts

111 Benedict Hall
915.747.5227
rsegura@utep.edu

Programs

Master of Arts

CHAIR: Dr. Charles Boehmer

Professors

Charles Boehmer
Contact Information: crboehmer@utep.edu; 915-747-7979
Education: Ph D, Pennsylvania State University
Research Interests: International relations/Comparative Politics: International Conflict, Civil Conflicts, International Political Economy, International Organization, Civil War, Terrorism, Border Politics and Theory. Research methods and statistics

Irasema Coronado
Contact Information: icoronado@utep.edu; 915-747-5725
Education: BA, University of South Florida; MA, University of Arizona; Ph D, University of Arizona

Gaspare Genna
Contact Information: ggenna@utep.edu; 915-747-6066
Education: Ph D, Claremont Graduate University

Taeko Hiroi
Contact Information: thiroi@utep.edu; 915-747-7983
Education: Ph D, University of Pittsburgh

Gregory Schmidt
Contact Information: gdschmidt@utep.edu; 915-747-7973
Education: BA, University of Texas at Austin; MA, Cornell Univesity; Ph D, Cornell University

Kathleen Staudt
Contact Information: kstaudt@utep.edu; 915-747-7975
Education: BA, University of Wisconsin/Milwaukee; MA, University of Wisconsin; Ph D, University of Wisconsin

Associate Professors

Gregory Rocha
Contact Information: grocha@utep.edu; 915-747-7977
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas atAustin

Cigdem Sirin Villalobos
Contact Information: cigdemsirin@utep.edu; 915-747-7971
Education: BA, Bogazici University; Ph D, Texas A&M University

José Villalobos
Contact Information: jdvillalobos2@utep.edu; 915-747-7978
Education: BA, University of Texas at San Antonio; Ph D, Texas A&M University

Assistant Professors

Todd Curry
Contact Information: tacurry@utep.edu; 915-747-7967
Education: Ph D, Western Michigan University

Rebecca Reid
Contact Information: rareid@utep.edu; 915-747-7970
Education: BA, Wofford College; Ph D, University of South Carolina
Research Interests: My main research interests include the establishment and maintenance of the rule of law, the tensions and interactions between international and domestic law, and the role of courts in democratizing and consolidating countries. I am also interested in judicial independence, separation of powers, human rights, comparative judicial politics, internationalization and diffusion of laws and norms, supranational courts, and transitional justice. I am currently focusing on how international law becomes incorporated into domestic law. More specifically, I look at the conditions under which national high courts incorporate human rights laws domestically and the influence of regional court jurisprudence on domestic law. I model and evaluate the roles of national and regional courts in the incorporation of international human rights laws into domestic law using the Inter-American Court of Human Rights and Latin American states.

Yingnan Zhou
Contact Information: yzhou5@utep.edu; 915-747-6216
Education: Ph D, University of Iowa
Research Interests: Authoritarian politics, democratization, authoritarian resilience

Visiting Professor

Gregory Schober
Contact Information: gschober@utep.edu; 915-747-7985
Education: Ph D, Duke University
Research Interests: Comparative Politics, Latin American Politics, Political Attitudes and Behavior, Civic Engagement, Social Policy, Health Policy, Health Politics, Human Development