University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

English

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

The Department of English is a large and diverse department, featuring undergraduate and graduate programs in English and American Literature, English Education, and Rhetoric and Writing Studies, including a Ph.D. program in Rhetoric and Composition, M.A. degrees in English and American Literature and Rhetoric and Writing Studies, an M.A.T. degree in English Education, and B.A. degrees in English and American Literature (ENAL) and English Education (ENGL). The First Year Composition sequence is housed in our department, which means that virtually every undergraduate student at UTEP comes into contact with us at one time or another. Our faculty have published widely across the fields represented in our department, and many of them have won awards for teaching and student support, as well as being recognized for their scholarship. We are committed to achieving the highest quality of scholarship and teaching, and we pride ourselves on welcoming and supporting our students at all levels, from their first semester in the university to the completion of their highest degree. 

MA, MAT, and PhD Degrees

The English Department offers a Master of Arts (MA) in English degree with two concentrations available:

  1. English and American Literature, 
  2. Rhetoric and Writing Studies; and a Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) in English.

The department also offers a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree in Rhetoric and Composition.

Chair

Maggy Smith
Contact Information: msmith@utep.edu; 915-747-6642
Education: Ph D, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Professor

Meredith Abarca
Contact Information: mabarca@utep.edu; 915-747-6249
Education: Ph D, The University of California, Davis

Beth Brunk-Chavez
Contact Information: blbrunk@utep.edu; 915-747-6318
Education: BA, New Mexico State University; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at Arlington

Mimi Gladstein
Contact Information: mgladstein@utep.edu; 915-747-6259
Education: BA, Texas Western College; MA, Texas Western College; Ph D, University of New Mexico

Maryse Jayasuriya
Contact Information: mjayasuriya@utep.edu; 915-747-6252
Education: Ph D, Purdue University

Katherine Mangelsdorf
Contact Information: kmangels@utep.edu; 915-747-5543
Education: Ph D, University of Arizona

Keith Polette
Contact Information: kpolette@utep.edu; 915-747-5123
Education: BA, Central Methodist College; MA, Idaho State University; MA, Idaho State University; Ph D, Saint Louis University

Maggy Smith
Contact Information: msmith@utep.edu; 915-747-6642
Education: Ph D, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Tony Stafford
Contact Information: tstaffor@utep.edu; 915-747-6266
Education: Ph D, Louisiana State University

Brian Yothers
Contact Information: byothers@utep.edu; 915-747-5886
Education: BA, Grace College; MA, Purdue University; Ph D, Purdue University

Associate Professor

Isabel Baca
Contact Information: ibaca@utep.edu; 915-747-6245
Education: Summer Credit, University of Warwick; BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Lucia Dura
Contact Information: ldura@utep.edu; 915-747-5199
Education: MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Andrew Fleck
Contact Information: ajfleck@utep.edu; 915-747-0246
Education: Ph D, Claremont Graduate University

Robert Gunn
Contact Information: rlgunn@utep.edu; 915-747-6265
Education: BA, Oberlin College; MA, New York University; Ph D, New York University

Joseph Ortiz
Contact Information: jmortiz7@utep.edu;
Education: BA, Yale University; Ph D, Princeton University

Jonna Perrillo
Contact Information: jperrillo@utep.edu; 915-747-6059
Education: BA, University of Michigan; MA, University of Maryland; Ph D, New York University

Marion Rohrleitner
Contact Information: mcrohrleitner@utep.edu; 915-747-5647
Education: M. Phil., Leopold-Franzens-Universitaet Innsbruck; Ph D, University of Notre Dame

Lauren Rosenberg
Contact Information: lmrosenberg@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Barbara Zimbalist
Contact Information: bezimbalist@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of California

Assistant Professor

Brad Jacobson
Contact Information: bjacobson@utep.edu; 915-747-6623
Education: MA, University of Arizona; Ph D, University of Arizona

Soyeon Lee
Contact Information: slee15@utep.edu; 915-747-8806
Education: BA, Yonsei University; MA, Yonsei University; Ph D, University of Houston

Assistant Professor of Practice

Anjanette Darrington
Contact Information: adarrington@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Arizona State University

Teresa Quezada
Contact Information: tquezada2@utep.edu; 915-747-5222
Education: MBA, UTEP; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Judith Fourzan
Contact Information: jfourzan@utep.edu; 915-747-6624
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MFA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Senior Lecturer

Esther Al-Tabaa
Contact Information: EAl-Tabaa@utep.edu;
Education: MA, The University of Texas at El Paso

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of English
Hudspeth Hall, Room 113
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79902


Phone: 915.747.5731
Email: english@utep.edu

Visit Department Website