University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Computer Science

Return to: College of Engineering

The Computer Science Department offers a PhD in Computer Science, a Master of Science in Computer Science, a Master of Science in Software Engineering (with a special track in Secure Cyber Systems), and a Master of Science in Data and Information Sciences.  The MS and PhD programs emphasize active student involvement in research groups. Our goal is to produce graduates who possess an education of sufficient breadth and depth to qualify them as leaders in both the industrial and academic environments of Computer Science.  The Software Engineering MS is a professional program that prepares graduates for advanced positions in a software engineering organization through hands-on course activities and industry-based projects and case studies.  Computer Science faculty members have particular expertise in the following areas: Applications of Theory, High Performance Computing, Interactive Systems, and Software Engineering.

Chair

Salamah Salamah
Contact Information: isalamah@utep.edu; 915-747-6671
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Professor

Martine Ceberio
Contact Information: mceberio@utep.edu; 915-747-6950
Education: MS, University of Nantes; DEA (Diplome d'Etudes Approfondies), University of Nantes; Ph D, University of Nantes

Olac Fuentes
Contact Information: ofuentes@utep.edu; 915-747-6956
Education: BS, Instituto Tecnológico de Chihuahua; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Rochester

Ann Gates
Contact Information: agates@utep.edu; 915-747-7689
Education: BS, UTEP; MS, UTEP; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Vladik Kreinovich
Contact Information: vladik@utep.edu; 915-747-6951
Education: MS, Leningrad University; BS, Leningrad University; Ph D, Institute of Mathematics, Siberian Branch, Soviet Academy of Sciences

Nigel Ward
Contact Information: nigel@utep.edu; 915-747-6827
Education: BS, The University of Michigan; Ph D, University of California, Berkeley

Associate Professor

Yoonsik Cheon
Contact Information: ycheon@utep.edu; 915-747-8028
Education: BS, Korea University; MS, Iowa State University; Ph D, Iowa State University

Eric Freudenthal
Contact Information: efreudenthal@utep.edu; 915-747-6954
Education: BA, New York University; Ph D, New York University Courant Institute

Mahmud Hossain
Contact Information: mhossain@utep.edu; 915-747-6340
Education: MS, Montana State University; Ph D, Virginia Tech

Christopher Kiekintveld
Contact Information: cdkiekintveld@utep.edu; 915-747-5564
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan

Luc Longpré
Contact Information: longpre@utep.edu; 915-747-6804
Education: BS, Université de Montréal; MS, Université de Montréal; Ph D, Cornell University

Shirley Moore
Contact Information: svmoore@utep.edu; 915-747-5054
Education: BA, Indiana University; M.Ed, University of Illinois; MS, Wichita State University; Ph D, Purdue University

Salamah Salamah
Contact Information: isalamah@utep.edu; 915-747-6671
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Natalia Villanueva Rosales
Contact Information: nvillanuevarosales@utep.edu; 915-747-8643
Education: BS, Panamerican University Campus Bonaterra; Double Major in Statistical Methods, Center for Mathematical Research; MS, University of Edinburgh; Ph D, Carleton University

Assistant Professor

Palvi Aggarwal
Contact Information: paggarwal@utep.edu; 915-747-6399
Education: B.Eng., Punjab Technical University; MS, Thapar University; Ph D, Indian Institute of Technology Mandi

Monika Akbar
Contact Information: makbar@utep.edu; 915-747-5883
Education: MS, Montana State University-Bozeman; Ph D, Virginia Tech

Omar Badreddin
Contact Information: obbadreddin@utep.edu; 915-747-8381
Education: BS, University of Massachusetts; MS, American University; Ph D, University of Ottawa; PostDoc, University of Ottawa

Dan DeBlasio
Contact Information: dfdeblasio@utep.edu; 915-747-6110
Education: BS, University of Central Florida; MS, University of Central Florida; Ph D, University of Arizona

Saeid Tizpaz Niari
Contact Information: saeid@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Colorado at Boulder

Deepak Tosh
Contact Information: dktosh@utep.edu; 915-747-6410
Education: BS, Biju Patnaik University of Technology; MS, University of Hyderabad; Ph D, University of Nevada Reno

Assistant Professor of Practice

Diego Aguirre
Contact Information: daguirre6@utep.edu;
Education: MS, The University of Texas at El Paso

Professor of Practice

Darren Cone
Contact Information: dmcone@utep.edu; 915-747-5785
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Kuldeep Singh
Contact Information: ksingh2@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Thapar University, India

Associate Professor of Instruction

Julio Cesar Urenda Castaneda
Contact Information: jcurenda@utep.edu; 915-747-7005
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso

Clinical Associate Professor

Oscar Mondragon Campos
Contact Information: oamondragon@utep.edu; 915-747-8015
Education: BS, Instituto Politécnico Nacional - Escuela Superior de Ingeniería Mecánica y Eléctrica; MS, California Satae University at Sacramento; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Computer Science
Chemistry & Computer Science Building, Room 3.1100
500 W University Ave
El Paso, Texas 79902


Phone: 915.747.5480
Fax: 915.747.5030
Website: http://cs.utep.edu

Visit Department Website