Return to: College of Engineering

Chemistry and Computer Science Building 3.1024
Phone, 915.747.5480
Fax 915.747.5030
http://cs.utep.edu

The Computer Science Department offers a PhD in Computer Science, a Master of Science in Computer Science, a Master of Science in Software Engineering (with a special track in Secure Cyber Systems), and a Master of Science in Information Technology.  The MS and PhD programs emphasize active student involvement in research groups. Our goal is to produce graduates who possess an education of sufficient breadth and depth to qualify them as leaders in both the industrial and academic environments of Computer Science.  The Software Engineering MS is a professional program that prepares graduates for advanced positions in a software engineering organization through hands-on course activities and industry-based projects and case studies.  Computer Science faculty members have particular expertise in the following areas: Applications of Theory, High Performance Computing, Interactive Systems, and Software Engineering.

Programs

Master of Science

Doctor of Philosophy

Certificate

CHAIR: Dr. Ann Gates

Professors

Ann Gates
Contact Information: agates@utep.edu; 915-747-7689
Education: BS, UTEP; MS, UTEP; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Patricia Teller
Contact Information: pteller@utep.edu; 915-747-5939
Education: BA, New York University; MS, New York University; Ph D, New York University

Nigel Ward
Contact Information: nigel@utep.edu; 915-747-6827
Education: BS, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of California at Berkeley

Associate Professors

Yoonsik Cheon
Contact Information: ycheon@utep.edu; 915-747-8028
Education: BS, Korea University; MS, Iowa State University; Ph D, Iowa State University

Christopher Kiekintveld
Contact Information: cdkiekintveld@utep.edu; 915-747-5564
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan

Luc Longpré
Contact Information: longpre@utep.edu; 915-747-6804
Education: BS, Université de Montréal; MS, Université de Montréal; Ph D, Cornell University

Assistant Professors

Omar Badreddin
Contact Information: obbadreddin@utep.edu
Education: BS, University of Massachusetts; MS, American University; Ph D, University of Ottawa; PostDoc, University of Ottawa

Eric Freudenthal
Contact Information: efreudenthal@utep.edu; 915-747-6954
Education: BA, New York University; Ph D, New York University

Mahmud Hossain
Contact Information: mhossain@utep.edu; 915-747-6340
Education: MS, Montana State University; Ph D, Virginia Tech

Natalia Villanueva Rosales
Contact Information: nvillanuevarosales@utep.edu; 915-747-8643
Education: BS, Panamerican University Campus Bonaterra; Double Major in Statistical Methods, Center for Mathematical Research; MS, University of Edinburgh; Ph D, Carleton University
Research Interests: Interdisciplinary research teams, biomedical informatics, climate change, water availability.

Clinical Associate Professor

Salamah Salamah
Contact Information: isalamah@utep.edu; 915-747-6671
Education: BS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso
Research Interests: Software Engineering Education, Software Engineering V&V, Software Architecture

Research Assistant Professors

Monika Akbar
Contact Information: makbar@utep.edu; 915-747-5995
Education: Ph D, Virginia Tech

Karen Villaverde
Contact Information: kpvillaverde@utep.edu; 915-747-5995
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University
Research Interests: Computer Science Education, Educational Computer Gaming