University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Theatre and Dance

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

The Department of Theatre and Dance at the University of Texas at El Paso is a diverse community of artists and scholars who align with the University mission through devotion to exceptional teaching, service, creative practice, and research, and by visibly contributing to the quality of life in El Paso and the surrounding region. Faculty are committed to providing students of the region, the nation, and beyond with the best education possible, preparing them with the skills necessary for advanced degree programs, successful careers in professional and educational theatre and dance, and life-long learning. All faculty are active in their respective fields as professional artists and scholars; they contribute to the department’s self-governance and self-evaluation as well as to departmental, college, and university committees; they are committed to diversity as essential to the education of UTEP students, and they openly and enthusiastically practice true collaboration, collegiality, civility, challenges to existing conventions, continuous self-improvement; and academic and artistic honesty. In these ways, faculty members expect to be models for their students, who in turn will become models for their own students and peers.

Chair

Hideaki Tsutsui
Contact Information: htsutsui2@utep.edu; 915-747-7851
Education: BS, Northern Arizona University; MFA, Florida State University

Professor

Mimi Gladstein
Contact Information: mgladstein@utep.edu; 915-747-6259
Education: BA, Texas Western College; MA, Texas Western College; Ph D, University of New Mexico

Hideaki Tsutsui
Contact Information: htsutsui2@utep.edu; 915-747-7851
Education: BS, Northern Arizona University; MFA, Florida State University

Associate Professor

Cristina Goletti
Contact Information: cgoletti@utep.edu; 915-747-7848
Education: MFA, University of Colorado-Boulder

Crystal Herman
Contact Information: gherman2@utep.edu; 915-747-7853
Education: MFA, The Ohio State University

Gregory Taylor
Contact Information: gtaylor@utep.edu; 915-747-6060
Education: UNK, American Academy of Dramatic Arts; BA, UTEP; MA, UTEP

Assistant Professor

Rodney Chabikwa
Contact Information: rtchabikwa@utep.edu;
Education: BA, College of the Atlantic; MFA, Southern Methodist University; Ph D, Ohio State University

Adriana Dominguez
Contact Information: adrianad@utep.edu;
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, New York University; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Kim McKean
Contact Information: kamckean@utep.edu; 915-747-5603
Education: BA, University of Wisconsin, Madison; MFA, University of California-Irvine

James Stratton
Contact Information: jastratton@utep.edu; 347-581-6468
Education: MFA, The University of Alabama

Assistant Professor of Practice

Felipa Torres
Contact Information: fntorres@utep.edu;
Education: MFA, University of Colorado

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Carolyn Cubit-Tsutsui
Contact Information: cacubittsutsui@utep.edu; 915-747-8026
Education: MFA, University of Illinois

Melissa Melpignano
Contact Information: mmelpignano@utep.edu; 915-747-6509
Education: BA, University of Kent/London Contemporary Dance School; BA, University of Venice Ca' Foscari; MA, University of Lugano; Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles

Programs

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Fine Arts

Minor

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Theatre and Dance
Fox Fine Arts Building, Room 371D
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79902


Phone: 915.747.5146
Fax: 915.747.5438

Email: adrianad@utep.edu

Visit Department Website