University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Communication

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

The Department of Communication affords students the opportunity to pursue a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication. Five majors are available:

  • Communication Studies
  • Digital Media Production 
  • Media Advertising
  • Organizational and Corporate Communication
  • Multimedia Journalism

In addition to taking core courses, each student completes requirements for his or her sequence, and electives as required by each major. 

Chair 

Richard Pineda
Contact Information: rdpineda@utep.edu; 915-747-6678
Education: Ph D, Wayne State University

Professor

Frank Perez
Contact Information: fperez1@utep.edu; 915-747-6287
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of New Mexico

Arvind Singhal
Contact Information: asinghal@utep.edu; 915-747-5129
Education: MA, University of Southern California; Ph D, University of Southern California

Chung-Chuan Yang
Contact Information: cyang@utep.edu; 915-747-6517
Education: Ph D, Ohio State University

Associate Professor

Yannick Atouba
Contact Information: yatouba@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Illinois

Roberto Avant-Mier
Contact Information: ravantmier@utep.edu; 915-747-6588
Education: Ph D, University of Utah

Richard Pineda
Contact Information: rdpineda@utep.edu; 915-747-6678
Education: Ph D, Wayne State University

Thomas Ruggiero
Contact Information: truggier@utep.edu; 915-747-5762
Education: BA, University of Oregon School of Journalism; MS, Shippensburg University; Ph D, Bowling Green State University

Mary Trejo
Contact Information: mtrejo@utep.edu; 915-747-5431
Education: Ph D, The University of Tulsa

Assistant Professor

Katie Bird
Contact Information: kebird@utep.edu;
Education: MA, Carnegie Mellon University; Ph D, University of Pittsburgh

Maria de los Angeles Flores
Contact Information: mdelosangelesflores@utep.edu; 915-747-8798
Education: Ph D, University of Texas at Austin

Sabiha Khan
Contact Information: skhan2@utep.edu; 915-747-7690
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan

Carlos Tarin
Contact Information: catarin@utep.edu; 915-747-6202
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, University of Colorado -- Boulder; Ph D, University of Utah

Sarah Upton
Contact Information: smupton@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of New Mexico

Senior Lecturer

Eli Garcia
Contact Information: egarcia11@utep.edu; 915-747-5310
Education: BBA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MBA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Communication
Cotton Memorial, Room 201
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79902

Phone: 915.747.5129

Email: roantill@utep.edu

Visit Department Website