University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Social Work

Return to: College of Health Sciences

Social Work is a challenging and rewarding profession which has the primary goal of helping individuals, families, small groups, organizations, and communities develop knowledge, values, and skills to help themselves to attain a better quality of life. The purpose of professional social work education is to enable students to integrate the knowledge, values, and skills of the social work profession into competent practice. Fully accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), the Department of Social Work baccalaureate program prepares students for generalist social work practice.

Mission

The mission of the Department of Social Work is to educate culturally competent social work practitioners to provide services and promote social and economic justice in partnership with the unique multicultural, international population of the Paso del Norte region and beyond. The Department of Social Work is dedicated to student success.

Programs

Bachelor of Social Work

Chair

Eva Moya
Contact Information: emmoya@utep.edu; 915-747-8493
Education: BS, University of Texas at El Paso; MSW, The University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso 

Professor

Bruce Friedman
Contact Information: bdfriedman@utep.edu; 915-747-8078
Education: BA, Case Western Reserve University; MSW, Washington University; Ph D, Case Western Reserve University

Associate Professor

Hyejin Jung
Contact Information: hjung2@utep.edu; 915-747-5453
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Eva Moya
Contact Information: emmoya@utep.edu; 915-747-8493
Education: BS, University of Texas at El Paso; MSW, The University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Yok-Fong Paat
Contact Information: ypaat@utep.edu; 915-747-5789
Education: BSW, Western Michigan University; MSW, University of Oklahoma; Ph D, University of Oklahoma; MPS, Pennsylvania State University

Assistant Professor

Jason Mallonee
Contact Information: jrmallonee@utep.edu;
Education: BA, Oberlin College; MA, Antioch University; MSW, University of Southern California; DSW, University of Pennsylvania

Clinical Instructor

Alma Armendariz
Contact Information: ararmendariz2@utep.edu; 915-747-6595
Education: BSW, University of Texas at El Paso; MSW, New Mexico State University

Erica Balderrama
Contact Information: erbalderrama@utep.edu; 915-747-8306
Education: MSW, The University of Texas at El Paso

Marina Gallardo
Contact Information: mcgallardo@utep.edu; 915-747-7292
Education: MSW, University of Texas at Austin

Rosario Olivera
Contact Information: reolivera@utep.edu; 915-747-8397
Education: MSW, Boston University

Irene Werthmann
Contact Information: iwerthmann@utep.edu; 915-747-8382
Education: MSW, The University of Texas at Arlington

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Social Work
Health Sciences and Nursing Building, Rm. 431
500 W. University Ave.
El Paso, Texas 79968

Email: socialwork@utep.edu

Phone: 915.747.5095

Visit Department Website