University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Mathematical Sciences

Return to: College of Science

The Mathematical Sciences Department at UTEP offers a program of instruction and research leading to MS degrees Mathematics and Statistics, and a MA degree in Teaching Mathematics (MATM). The department also offers Graduate Certificates in Applied Statistics, Big Data Analytics, and Applied and Computational Mathematics. The department supports the MS degree in Bioinformatics and participates in the MS and PhD programs in Computational Sciences.

Admission Requirements

  1. Bachelor's degree from an accredited institution in the United States or proof of equivalent education in a foreign institution
  2. Undergraduate degree in Mathematics
  3. TOEFL score of 550 or higher for international applicants whose first language is not English or who have not completed a university degree in the U.S. or in another English-Speaking institution
  4. Two letters of reference

Chair

Maria Mariani
Contact Information: mcmariani@utep.edu; 915-747-6861
Education: MS, Univ. of Buenos Aires; Ph D, Univ. of Buenos Aires; MS, Univ. of Buenos Aires

Professor

Behzad Djafari-Rouhani
Contact Information: behzad@utep.edu; 915-747-6767
Education: Baccalaureat (High School Degree), Lycee franco-iraninen de Teheran; D.U.E.S. (Math-Physics), Universite Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris 6); Maitrise de Mathematiques, Universite Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris 6); Ingenieur Civil des Mines, Ecole Nationale Superieure des Mines de Paris; Ph D, Yale University

Art Duval
Contact Information: aduval@utep.edu; 915-747-6846
Education: BS, California Institute of Technology; Ph D, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Joe Guthrie
Contact Information: jguthrie@utep.edu; 915-747-6755
Education: BA, The University of Texas at Austin; MA, Texas Christian University; Ph D, Texas Christian University

Mohamed Khamsi
Contact Information: mohamed@utep.edu; 915-747-6763
Education: Ph D, University of Paris 6

Lawrence Lesser
Contact Information: Lesser@utep.edu; 915-747-6845
Education: BA, Rice University; MS, The University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Ming-Ying Leung
Contact Information: mleung@utep.edu; 915-747-6836
Education: BS, University of Hong Kong; M. Phil., University of Hong Kong; MS, Stanford University; Ph D, Stanford University

Nancy Marcus
Contact Information: nancymarcus@utep.edu; 915-747-6750
Education: BS, Texas Western College; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Maria Mariani
Contact Information: mcmariani@utep.edu; 915-747-6861
Education: MS, Univ. of Buenos Aires; Ph D, Univ. of Buenos Aires; MS, Univ. of Buenos Aires

Osvaldo Mendez
Contact Information: osmendez@utep.edu; 915-747-6862
Education: Licenciado en Matematicas, Universidad Nacional de Rosario; Ph D, University of Minnesota; MS, University of Minnesota

Ori Rosen
Contact Information: orosen@utep.edu; 915-747-6843
Education: BS, Technion; MS, Technion; ScD, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

Emil Schwab
Contact Information: eschwab@utep.edu; 915-747-6758
Education: BS, West University of Timisoara; Ph D, Babeș-Bolyai University

Edward Sewell
Contact Information: sewell@utep.edu; 915-747-6762
Education: Ph D, Purdue University; MS, University of Texas Austin

Xiaogang Su
Contact Information: xsu@utep.edu; 915-747-6860
Education: BS, Beijing Normal University; MS, University of California, Davis; Ph D, University of California, Davis

Mourat Tchoshanov
Contact Information: mouratt@utep.edu; 915-747-7668
Education: Specialist Degree, Turkmen State Pedagogical Institute; Candidate of Sciences Degree, Kazan State Pedagogical Institute; Ph D, Kazan State Pedagogical University

Piotr Wojciechowski
Contact Information: piotrw@utep.edu; 915-747-6774
Education: Ph D, Bowling Green State University

Associate Professor

Miguel Argaez
Contact Information: margaez@utep.edu; 915-747-6775
Education: BS, Universidad del Valle; MS, Universidad Nacional; MA, Rice University; Ph D, Rice University

Hamide Dogan-Dunlap
Contact Information: hdogan@utep.edu; 915-747-6769
Education: Ph D, University of Oklahoma

Helmut Knaust
Contact Information: hknaust@utep.edu; 915-747-7002
Education: Diplom-Mathematiker, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms Universitaet; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Kien Lim
Contact Information: kienlim@utep.edu; 915-747-6772
Education: General Certificate of Education ‘A’ Level, Raffles Junior College, Singapore; BA, National University of Singapore; MS, University of Wyoming; Ph D, University of California San Diego & San Diego State University

Naijun Sha
Contact Information: nsha@utep.edu; 915-747-6844
Education: BS, Fudan University; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, Texas A&M University

Luis Valdez-Sanchez
Contact Information: lvsanchez@utep.edu; 915-747-6766
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MA, University of California, Berkeley; Ph D, University of California, Berkeley

Amy Wagler
Contact Information: awagler2@utep.edu; 915-747-6847
Education: BS, The University of Texas of the Permian Basin; MS, Oklahoma State University; Ph D, Oklahoma State University

Son-Young Yi
Contact Information: syi@utep.edu; 915-747-6864
Education: BS, Korea University; MS, Seoul National University; Ph D, Purdue University

Assistant Professor

Anass Bouchnita
Contact Information: abouchnita@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Université Mohammed V de Rabat; Ph D, Université de Lyon

Suneel Babu Chatla
Contact Information: sbchatla@utep.edu; 915-747-6764
Education: Ph D, National Tsing Hua University

Asim Kumer Dey
Contact Information: adey@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas at Dallas

Abhijit Mandal
Contact Information: amandal@utep.edu; 915-747-8246
Education: MS, Indian Statistical Institute; Ph D, Indian Statistical Institute

Michael Pokojovy
Contact Information: mpokojovy@utep.edu; 915-747-6761
Education: Ph D, University of Konstanz

Natasha Sharma
Contact Information: nssharma@utep.edu; 915-747-6858
Education: Ph D, University of Houston

Associate Professor of Instruction

Francisco Avila
Contact Information: favila2@utep.edu; 915-747-8908
Education: MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Maria Beccar-Varela
Contact Information: mpvarela@utep.edu; 915-747-8038
Education: MS, University of Buenos Aires; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, New Mexico State University; Ph D, New Mexico State University; ACUE Certificate in Effective College Instruction, THE ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY EDUCATORS AND THE AMERICAN COUNCIL ON EDUCATION (ACUE and ACE)

Louise Guthrie
Contact Information: lguthrie@utep.edu; 915-747-8908
Education: Ph D, New Mexico State University

Yin Lin
Contact Information: ylin4@utep.edu; 915-747-7001
Education: BS, Southern Arkansas University; MS, University of Louisiana at Lafayette; Ph D, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Andrew Pownuk
Contact Information: ampownuk@utep.edu; 915-747-6759
Education: MS, Silesian Technical University Faculty of Mathematics and Physics; Postgraduate Study, Silesian University of Technology Faculty of Automatic Control, Electronics and Computer Science; School of English Language (1995-1999), British Council; Ph D, Silesian University of Technology; MS, University of Texas at El Paso; MS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Julio Cesar Urenda Castaneda
Contact Information: jcurenda@utep.edu; 915-747-7005
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso

Senior Lecturer

Guillermo Heredia
Contact Information: gherediajr@utep.edu; 915-747-8738
Education: BS, University of Texas at El Paso; MS, University of Texas at El Paso

The University of Texas at El Paso

Department of Mathematical Sciences 

Bell Hall Building, Room 124 

Phone: 915.747.5761

Email: mathdept@utep.edu

Visit Department Website