University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Return to: College of Science

Programs

Graduate Certificate

Master of Science

Doctor of Philosophy

Chair

Dr. Ricardo Bernal

Professor

James Becvar
Contact Information: jbecvar@utep.edu; 915-747-7563
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor

Carlos Cabrera Martinez
Contact Information: crcabrerama@utep.edu; 915-747-7550
Education: BS, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus; Ph D, Cornell University

Carl Dirk
Contact Information: cdirk@utep.edu; 915-747-7560
Education: BA, Montclair State College; MS, Northwestern University; Ph D, Northwestern University

Luis Echegoyen
Contact Information: echegoyen@utep.edu; 915-747-7573
Education: Ph D, University Puerto Rico

Carlos Ferregut
Contact Information: ferregut@utep.edu; 915-747-6921
Education: BS, National Polytechnic Institute; MS, National Autonomous University of Mexico; Ph D, University of Waterloo

Jorge Gardea-Torresdey
Contact Information: jgardea@utep.edu; 915-747-5359
Education: BS, Universidad Autónoma de Chihuahua; MS, New Mexico State University; Ph D, New Mexico State University; Postdoctoral: Department of Energy (WERC), New Mexico State University

Chu-Young Kim
Contact Information: ckim7@utep.edu; 915-747-6935
Education: BA, Cornell University; MS, University of Pennsylvania; Ph D, University of Pennsylvania

Mahesh Narayan
Contact Information: mnarayan@utep.edu; 915-747-6614
Education: BS, University of Bombay; Ph D, The Ohio State University; Postdoctoral, Cornell University; Sr. Res. Assoc., Cornell University

Keith Pannell
Contact Information: kpannell@utep.edu; 915-747-5796
Education: BS, Durham University; MS, Durham University; Ph D, University of Toronto

Nicholas Pingitore
Contact Information: npingitore@utep.edu; 915-747-5754
Education: BA, Columbia College; MS, Brown University; Ph D, Brown University

Stephen Stafford
Contact Information: stafford@utep.edu; 915-747-6930
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, Rice University

Shailendra Varma
Contact Information: skvarma@utep.edu; 915-747-6937
Education: B.Eng., University of Roorkee; MS, University of Denver; Ph D, Georgia Institute of Technology

Chuan Xiao
Contact Information: cxiao@utep.edu; 915-747-8657
Education: BS, Fudan University; MS, Fudan University; Ph D, Purdue University

Associate Professor

Ricardo Bernal
Contact Information: rbernal@utep.edu; 915-747-6918
Education: BS, Texas A&M University; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, Purdue University; Postdoctoral, Medical Research Council- Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Skye Fortier
Contact Information: asfortier@utep.edu; 915-747-5195
Education: Ph D, University of California, Santa Barbara

Wen-Yee Lee
Contact Information: wylee@utep.edu; 915-747-8413
Education: BA, National Taiwan Normal University; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso; Post Doctoral Training, Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station

XiuJun (James) Li
Contact Information: xli4@utep.edu; 915-747-8967
Education: BS, Qingdao University; MS, Shandong University; Ph D, Simon Fraser University; Postdoctoral, University of California, Berkley; Postdoctoral, Harvard University

Katja Michael
Contact Information: kmichael@utep.edu; 915-747-5240
Education: BS, University of Frankfurt; MS, University of Frankfurt; Ph D, Technical University in Munich

Juan Noveron
Contact Information: jcnoveron@utep.edu; 915-747-7572
Education: BA, California State University Long Beach; BA, California State University Long Beach; Ph D, University of California Santa Cruz; Ph D, University of California Santa Cruz; Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of Utah; Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of Utah

James Salvador
Contact Information: jsal@utep.edu; 915-747-5704
Education: High School, Stephen F. Austin High School; BS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Geoffrey Saupe
Contact Information: gsaupe@utep.edu; 915-747-7559
Education: Ph D, University of Texas at Austin

Dino Villagran
Contact Information: dino@utep.edu; 915-747-8750
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, Texas A&M University; Postdoctoral fellow, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Assistant Professor

Harish Banda
Contact Information: hbanda1@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Communauté Université Grenoble Alpes

Elizabeth Day
Contact Information: elday@utep.edu; 915-747-5010
Education: BS, The University of South Dakota; Ph D, The University of Georgia

Jose Hernandez-Viezcas
Contact Information: jahernandez19@utep.edu; 915-747-8678
Education: Ph D, The University Of Texas at El Paso

Eda Koculi
Contact Information: ekoculi@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, John Hopkins

Balazs Pinter
Contact Information: bpinter@utep.edu; 915-747-7555
Education: Ph D, Budapest University of Technology and Economics

Sreeprasad Sreenivasan
Contact Information: sreenivasan@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Indian Institute of Technology

Lela Vukovic
Contact Information: lvukovic@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Illinois

Yaoqiu Zhu
Contact Information: yzhu2@utep.edu; 915-747-5360
Education: Ph D, Northwestern University

The University of Texas at El Paso
College of Science
Chemistry and Computer Science Building
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79902

Phone: 915.747.8027

Email: chemistry@utep.edu 

Visit Department Website