University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Teacher Education

Return to: College of Education

The department of Teacher Education offers graduate programs that provide advanced professional education knowledge and skills for application in school and non-school settings. Students who wish to pursue master’s degrees in Teacher Education can select from two programs: the Master of Arts in Education and the Master of Education. The Master of Arts is designed for students wishing to pursue research and/or continue studies beyond the master's degree level. The Master of Education degree is directed toward mastery of professional education practice. Students pursuing the Master of Education can major in Curriculum and Instruction or Reading Education. The department also offers a doctoral program of study, the PhD in Teaching, Learning, and Culture.

Admission Requirements

Before admission to the Teacher Education Graduate Program, applicants must comply with the General Admission Requirements section of this Graduate Catalog. Applicants whose bachelor degree is in a field other than Education will be assigned educational practicum and/or undergraduate coursework to serve as leveling experiences in preparation for the master’s level educational programs. These leveling experiences will be assigned by the department advisors. Letters of recommendation must be provided.

Additional information:

  • No more than six (6) semester hours of graduate work (with a grade of B or better required) can be transferred from another institution.
  • Courses taken prior to formal admission into a graduate program cannot be counted toward a graduate degree without the specific recommendation of the departmental committee on graduate studies and approval of the Graduate School.
  • Applicants might also be invited to an interview.

For more information about admission, please visit the department’s Graduate Program website at and read the College of Education and Graduate School sections of the Graduate Catalog.

Program Advising

  • Students are advised to view the information on the department website at or contact the department for more specific information regarding admission, advising, degree options and requirements, and comprehensive exams.
  • Students will be assigned a graduate faculty advisor at the time of admission to the program.
  • Students should maintain a continuing advising relationship with the faculty advisor, which includes preparing and updating their degree plan, making course selections, and requesting a comprehensive examination or thesis defense.

Chair

Alyse Hachey, Ph.D.
Contact Information: ahachey@utep.edu; 915-747-7677
Education: BS, Eastern Michigan University; MA, University of Michigan; MA, University of Teachers College Columbia University; Ph D, Teachers College Columbia University; M.Ed, Teachers College Columbia

Olga Kosheleva
Contact Information: olgak@utep.edu; 915-747-7588
Education: MS, Novosibirsk State University; POSTD, Special Astrophysical Observatory of the Russian Academy of Science; MS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Professor

Timothy Cashman
Contact Information: tcashman@utep.edu; 915-747-7713
Education: BA, University of Northern Iowa; MA, University of New Mexico; Ph D, Washington State University

Elena Izquierdo
Contact Information: ielena@utep.edu; 915-747-7595
Education: MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, Georgetown University

William Robertson
Contact Information: robertson@utep.edu; 915-747-6426
Education: BA, Duke University; BS, Northern Arizona University; MA, University of Colorado; Ph D, University of New Mexico; BA, The University of Texas at El Paso

César Rossatto
Contact Information: crossatto@utep.edu; 915-747-5253
Education: Certificate, College of Philosophy, Science, and Liberal Arts; BA, College of Philosophy, Science, and Liberal Arts; Diploma, College of Philosophy, Science, and Liberal Arts; MA, California State University, Los Angeles; Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles

Mourat Tchoshanov
Contact Information: mouratt@utep.edu; 915-747-7668
Education: Specialist Degree, Turkmen State Pedagogical Institute; Candidate of Sciences Degree, Kazan State Pedagogical Institute; Ph D, Kazan State Pedagogical University

Josefina Tinajero
Contact Information: tinajero@utep.edu; 915-747-5552
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Certificate, The University of Texas at El Paso; M.Ed, The University of Texas at El Paso; EDD, Texas A&M University, Kingsville; Certificate, Our Lady of the Lake University

Maria Teresa de la Piedra
Contact Information: mdelapiedra@utep.edu; 915-747-5527
Education: BA, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú; MA, University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, University of Texas at Austin

Associate Professor

Song An
Contact Information: saan@utep.edu; 915-747-7616
Education: BA, Nanjing Arts Institute; Ph D, Texas A&M University

David Carrejo
Contact Information: dcarrejo@utep.edu; 915-747-5856
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT), University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Christina Convertino
Contact Information: cconvertino@utep.edu; 915-747-7675
Education: BA, University of Vermont; MA, University of Arizona; Post-Bac Teaching Certification, University of Arizona; Ph D, University of Arizona

Alyse Hachey
Contact Information: ahachey@utep.edu; 915-747-7677
Education: BS, Eastern Michigan University; MA, University of Michigan; MA, Teachers College Columbia University; Ph D, Teachers College Columbia University; M.Ed, Teachers College Columbia University

Pei-Ling Hsu
Contact Information: phsu3@utep.edu; 915-747-6446
Education: BS, National Taiwan Normal University; MS, National Taiwan Normal University; Ph D, University of Victoria

So Jung Kim
Contact Information: skim7@utep.edu; 915-747-6221
Education: BA, Sungshin Women's University; MA, Yonsei University; MS, Illinois State University; Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Olga Kosheleva
Contact Information: olgak@utep.edu; 915-747-7588
Education: MS, Novosibirsk State University; POSTD, Special Astrophysical Observatory of the Russian Academy of Science; MS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

William Medina-Jerez
Contact Information: wjmedinajerez@utep.edu; 915-747-8608
Education: BS, Universidad de Pamplona; MS, University of Iowa; Ph D, University of Iowa

Erika Mein
Contact Information: elmein2@utep.edu; 915-747-6378
Education: BA, University of Virginia; Ph D, University of Pennsylvania

Katherine Mortimer
Contact Information: ksmortimer@utep.edu; 915-747-5966
Education: BA, Cornell University; MA, School for International Training; Ph D, University of Pennsylvania

Reynaldo Reyes
Contact Information: rreyes9@utep.edu; 915-747-8817
Education: BA, Texas Tech University; MA, The University of New Mexico; Ph D, University of Colorado; TL

Milagros Seda
Contact Information: mseda@utep.edu; 915-747-7670
Education: B.Ed., University of Hawaii; M.Ed, University of Texas at El Paso; EDD, University of Houston

Daniel Tillman
Contact Information: datillman@utep.edu; 915-747-0153
Education: BA, Virginia Tech; MA, Virginia Tech; Ph D, University of Virginia

Charlotte Ullman
Contact Information: cullman@utep.edu; 915-747-7646
Education: BA, University of Wisconsin; MA, Northeastern Illinois University; Ph D, University of Arizona

Assistant Professor

Amy Bach
Contact Information: ajbach@utep.edu; 915-747-5791
Education: BA, University of Wisconsin-Madison; MA, Teachers College, Columbia University; EDD, University of Pennsylvania, Graduate School of Education

Sarah Jean Johnson
Contact Information: sjjohnson2@utep.edu; 915-747-5965
Education: BFA, University of Oklahoma; MS, Fordham University; Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles

Justice Walker
Contact Information: jtwalker@utep.edu; 915-747-7659
Education: BS, University of Miami; MS, University of Pennsylvania; Ph D, University of Pennsylvania

Cynthia Wiltshire
Contact Information: cawiltshire@utep.edu; 915-747-6655
Education: BA, The University of Virginia; MA, New York University; Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, & Human Development; MS, Teachers College Columbia University; EDD, Teachers College Columbia University

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Diane Golding
Contact Information: degolding@utep.edu; 915-747-8459
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; M.Ed, The University of Texas at El Paso; EDD, University of Southern California

Lidia Herrera-Rocha
Contact Information: lherrera2@utep.edu; 915-747-7673
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; M.Ed, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Rachel Keller
Contact Information: rdkeller@utep.edu; 915-747-7089
Education: BA, Arizona State University; M.Ed, Northern Arizona University; EDD, Arizona State University

Jessica Slade
Contact Information: jdgaines@utep.edu; 915-747-5566
Education: BA, University of the Pacific; M.Ed, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Clinical Assistant Professor

Joyce Asing Cashman
Contact Information: gasingcashman2@utep.edu; 915-747-8420
Education: BS, University Putra Malaysia; MS, Middlesex University; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Jose Maria Herrera
Contact Information: jherrera13@utep.edu; 915-747-5951
Education: BS, The University of Texas at Austin; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, Purdue University

Elsa Villa
Contact Information: evilla@utep.edu; 915-747-6948
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University

The University of Texas at El Paso
College of Education
Education Building, Room 414
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79902

E: education@utep.edu
P: 915.747.5572
F: 915.747.5755

Visit Website