University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Educational Leadership and Foundations

Return to: College of Education

The Department of Educational Leadership and Foundations offers two graduate degrees:

  1. M.Ed. in Educational Administration with focus on K-12 administration or leadership in higher education leadership;
  2. Ed.D. in Educational Leadership and Administration with concentrations in Central-Office and School-Site Leadership, Leadership in Policy Analysis and Evaluation, and Higher Education Leadership. 

Non-Degree Programs

In addition to the M.Ed. in Educational Administration degree program, the department offers coursework leading to Texas certification in the areas of School Principal and School Superintendent. The Principal Certification Program is available to students who have completed the M.Ed. in Educational Administration in the department as well as to students with a master’s degree from another related field.

Chair

Arturo Olivarez
Contact Information: aolivarez3@utep.edu; 915-747-5579
Education: BS, The University of Texas - Pan American (Now Rio Grande Valley); MS, The University of Texas - Pan American (Now Rio Grande Valley); Ph D, Texas A&M University

Professor

John Daresh
Contact Information: jdaresh@utep.edu; 915-747-7592
Education: Graduate Work, Applied Linguistics, Universite Laval; BA, Loras College; MA, DePaul University; Ph D, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Arturo Olivarez
Contact Information: aolivarez3@utep.edu; 915-747-5579
Education: BS, The University of Texas - Pan American (Now Rio Grande Valley); MS, The University of Texas - Pan American (Now Rio Grande Valley); Ph D, Texas A&M University

Clifton Tanabe
Contact Information: cstanabe@utep.edu; 915-747-5572

Associate Professor

Jesus Cisneros
Contact Information: jcisneros7@utep.edu; 915-747-6450
Education: BA, New Mexico State University; MS, Texas A&M University; Ph D, Arizona State University

Penelope Espinoza
Contact Information: ppespinoza@utep.edu; 915-747-8784
Education: BA, Stanford University; MA, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of Michigan

Edna Martinez
Contact Information: ednam@utep.edu; 915-747-8433
Education: Ph D, Clemson University

Rodolfo Rincones
Contact Information: rrincones@utep.edu; 915-747-7614
Education: BS, Escuela Superior de Agricultura "Hermanos Escobar; MA, New Mexico State University; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Richard Sorenson
Contact Information: rsorenson@utep.edu; 915-747-5383
Education: BS, Corpus Christi State Univeristy; MS, Corpus Christi University; EDD, Texas A&M University

Assistant Professor

Isela Pena
Contact Information: ipena3@utep.edu;
Education: EDD, University of Texas at El Paso

Wei-Ling Sun
Contact Information: wlsun@utep.edu; 915-747-7591
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Assistant Professor of Practice

Maria Cortez
Contact Information: mtcortez@utep.edu; 915-747-6276
Education: BBA, The University of Texas at El Paso; M.Ed, The University of Texas at El Paso; EDD, The University of Texas at El Paso

Associate Professor of Instruction

Eduardo Arellano
Contact Information: ecarellano@utep.edu; 915-747-7593
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MPA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University

The University of Texas at El Paso
College of Education
Education Building, Room 414
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79902

E: education@utep.edu
P: 915.747.5572
F: 915.747.5755

Visit Website