Return to: College of Business Administration

260 Business Administration Building
915.747.5192
cobacct@utep.edu

The Department of Accounting at UTEP shares with the University its fundamental mission to provide the highest-quality education to citizens of El Paso and the West Texas Region, commensurate with AACSB International standards for Business and Accounting accreditation.

The objectives of the Master of Accountancy (MACY) program are to provide students the necessary background for placement into, and advancement in, the public accounting profession; to enhance the skills necessary for success in the public accounting profession; to explore issues relevant to the professional accounting environment; and to provide the educational requirements necessary to sit for the Uniform CPA Examination in the state of Texas.

All students wishing to study for a MACY degree must meet the Pre-Master of Accountancy (Pre-MACY) requirements and complete thirty credit hours of Course of Study for the Master of Accountancy (MACY). Students accepted to the MACY program and Graduate Certificate in Accountancy will take an entry accounting assessment as directed by the program graduate advisor before they start the program, and an exit assessment at the end of the program to evaluate the quality of the program in compliance with AACSB accreditation requirements. 

The MACY program consists of a three-hour business core, an eighteen-hour accounting option, a three hour communications requirement, and six hours of approved graduate Business electives. The MACY has a specialization in the financial/auditing area as well as in taxation.

Accounting (ACCT) courses and Business Law (BLAW) courses are included under the Accounting course section.

Programs

Master of Accountancy

Certificate

Professors

Kallol Bagchi
Contact Information: kbagchi@utep.edu; 915-747-5376
Education: BS, Calcutta University; MS, Calcutta University; Post Graduate Diploma, Jadavpur University; Ph D, Jadavpur University; Ph D, Florida Atlantic University

Peeter Kirs
Contact Information: pkirs@utep.edu; 915-747-7733
Education: BS, State University of New York at Buffalo; BA, State University of New York at Buffalo; MA, Seton Hall University; MBA, State University of New York at Buffalo; Ph D, State University of New York at Buffalo

Mourice Mahmood
Contact Information: mmahmood@utep.edu; 915-747-7754
Education: BS, University of California/Dacca University; MBA, California State University; Ph D, Texas Tech University

Waymond Rodgers
Contact Information: wrodgers@utep.edu; 915-747-7732
Education: Ph D, University of Southern California; Postdoctorate, University of Michigan

Godwin Udo
Contact Information: gudo@utep.edu; 915-747-7780
Education: HND, Institute of Mgt. & Tech- Enugu, Nigeris,1980; BSc/MEd: Bahelor of Science / Master of Educcation, University of Missouri-Columbia; MS, University of Missouri-Columbia; Ph D, Clemson University-Clemson
Research Interests: Management of Information Technology, Technology Transfer, Applications of Information Technology Production and Operations Management problems, Strategic Use of Emerging IT such as Data Visualization, Electronic Commerce, E-Business, and Data warehousing

Associate Professors

Richard Francis
Contact Information: rnfrancis@utep.edu; 915-747-7953
Education: BBA, The University of Oklahoma; MBA, University of Oklahoma; Ph D, University of Oklahoma
Research Interests: Financial accounting issues such as cash flow prediction, impact of leasing on financial statements, relevance of regulatory filings for financial markets, and methodological issues for archival research.

Leo Gemoets
Contact Information: lgemoets@utep.edu; 915-747-7763
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; D.Sc., Saint Lucia Health Sciences University

Terry Ann Glandon
Contact Information: tglandon@utep.edu; 915-747-8681
Education: BA, Western Washington University; MBA, Eastern New Mexico University; Ph D, University of Texas at Arlington

Giorgio Gotti
Contact Information: ggotti@utep.edu; 915-747-7762
Education: Ph D, The University of Tennessee
Research Interests: International Accounting, Financial Accounting

Karl Putnam
Contact Information: kputnam@utep.edu; 915-747-7740
Education: BBA, University of Texas at Austin; MPA, University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, Oklahoma State University
Research Interests: Financial Accounting, Managerial Accounting, Government/Not For Profit Accounting, Investments and Financial Planning

Laura Trevino
Contact Information: lhall@utep.edu; 915-747-7743
Education: BS, University of Southern Mississippi; MBA, University of Southern Mississippi; Ph D, Florida State University

Assistant Professors

Richard Carrizosa
Contact Information: rdcarrizosa@utep.edu; 915-747-7750
Education: Ph D, New York University

Richard Cazier
Contact Information: racazier@utep.edu; 915-747-7755
Education: MS, Brigham Young University; BS, Brigham Young University; Ph D, University of Iowa

David Folsom
Contact Information: dmfolsom@utep.edu; 915-747-7759
Education: BS, Brigham Young University; MA, Brigham Young University; Ph D, The University of Iowa

Grace Mubako
Contact Information: gnmubako@utep.edu; 915-747-7739
Education: Ph D, Southern Illinois University
Research Interests: Audit judgment and decision making, Management fraud, Internal Auditing, Corporate governance issues.

Rebeca Perez
Contact Information: rperez43@utep.edu

Rachel Thompson
Contact Information: rthompson@utep.edu

Clinical Professor

Paulette Rodriguez
Contact Information: pdrodriguez3@utep.edu; 915-229-5841
Education: BBA, New Mexico State University; Masters of Accountancy, New Mexico State University
Research Interests: Cash Budgeting. LEAN Accounting, Rolling Forecasts

Assistant Instructors

Niharika Dayyala
Contact Information: ndayyala@utep.edu; 915-747-5496
Education: BS, Andhra University; MS, Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso
Research Interests: Information technology/information systems (IT/IS) diffusion and co-diffusion, software project management, strategies for successful software development, software sourcing, business value of IT/IS.

Xiang Gao
Contact Information: xgao@miners.utep.edu; 915-747-5192
Education: BA, East China University of Science and Technology; MBA, Idaho State University; MBA, Idaho State University; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Md Hasan
Contact Information: mmhasan@utep.edu; 915-747-5192
Education: BBA, Jahangirnagar University; MBA, University of Dhaka; MS, The University of Toledo

Visiting Assistant Professor

Marco Fasan
Contact Information: mfasan@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, Luiss Guido Carli